AdNovum Incubator

Unlocking the potential of bright ideas


Real innovation arises when an emerging technology meets an existing need. This can be seen from the social and technological development of recent centuries. Analogous to the alchemists who tried to convert base metals into gold in the Middle Ages, merging new technological capabilities and core needs can create added value. AdNovum Incubator wants to understand, model and support the mechanisms of innovation with one method: the alchemy of innovation. It consists of the three stages "observe", "incubate" and "convert".

Observe

incubator_observe_icon

Identifying basic mechanisms and applying them to new areas

 

Every day we consume a flood of information from different sources. We read the newspaper, listen to conversations on the train, surf the Internet, etc. To prevent us from going crazy, our brain helps us to process this flood of information. It filters out what is unimportant or already known and lets only what is important or challenges our current mindset access our consciousness. This separation of what is the same and what is different is key to being able to abstract or generalize. It's about realizing that this animal we are seeing right now is a dog because it looks very similar to other dogs we know. However, we also notice that this dog is special in his own way.

 

Innovation is about extracting ideas from observations and applying them to new areas. To do this, we need to fully understand the basic mechanism of a process. Only then are we able to take advantage of it. That is why we ask ourselves in each case “What makes this topic special?” or “How does it distinguish itself from similar topics?". This way, an automatic "matching" is triggered. Meaning: Once we have understood the basic idea of a cool solution, we think about which need can also be met. This results in a hypothesis for an innovation.

 

Incubate

incubator_incubate_icon

Reviewing hypothesis and gaining valuable insights

 

If an idea has emerged in the "observe" stage, we formulate it as a hypothesis. Whether the idea is viable can be seen from the response it receives. If the response is high, we validate the idea with experiments. This is usually done in the form of a proof of concept or a prototype – and most effectively with an existing or potential customer in a so-called co-creation phase, in which we pursue a common goal at eye level.

 

Various scenarios are possible during validation:

  • Scenario 1: The hypothesis is confirmed. In this case, the "incubate" stage is completed.
  • Scenario 2: The result looks promising, but the hypothesis has not yet been fully confirmed and needs to be adjusted because we have gained new insights.
  • Scenario 3: A "lucky punch". At first sight, the experiment seems to have failed. Soon after, as we understand exactly what has happened, we discover a completely unexpected result that has great benefits.
  • Scenario 4: The hypothesis is wrong. The more courageously we pursue an idea, the more often this occurs. However, this is just as important as a non-confirmed hypothesis also provides valuable insights.

 

Convert

incubator_convert_icon

Unlocking the potential of bright ideas

 

Once a hypothesis has been confirmed and there are specific application possibilities, we examine whether an offering can be crafted from it. To this end, we develop a classic business case that focuses on the added value for the end-user. If added value and market potential are proven, we define the organizational and financial framework conditions for successful design, implementation and marketing.

 

If the solution can be used as a product, fits AdNovum’s strategy and offering and can be developed in good time with our own resources, we implement it internally. A multidisciplinary agile team with members from different business and support units is responsible for product design and development as well as the marketing of the first MVP.

 

If the framework conditions for internal implementation are not met, the solution is developed externally, if necessary together with partners. This may involve the foundation of a start-up or a joint venture.

 

An individual software development is also an option if the solution meets the needs of a customer or if the customer is interested in developing the solution themselves, but needs a technology partner. This is our classic approach. In close cooperation with the customer we tailor the use case to his needs, goals and environment. Then we design a suitable solution and a detailed plan for its implementation. When it comes to defining and creating the organizational, technical and legal framework conditions, we closely support the customer. The same applies to the change management process. The customer can always rely on our expertise, skills and resources in software and security engineering – from start to finish.

 

Do you have a promising idea you would like to challenge or further develop with us? Contact us!

‹‹The AdNovum Incubator drives innovation by anticipating trends, identifying opportunities for the business to commercialize emerging technology and building show cases.››
Matthias Loepfe, Head of Incubator, AdNovum
‹‹AdNovum Incubator is an innovation catalyst. We drive innovation by anticipating technology trends, identifying business needs where emerging technologies can help and validate use cases within our ecosystem of industry and academic partners.››
Stéphane Mingot, Innovation Engineer, AdNovum Incubator

Matthias Loepfe Head of AdNovum Incubator

Stéphane Mingot Innovation Engineer, AdNovum Incubator

AdNovum Incubator

Libérer le potentiel des idées brillantes


C'est ce que montre un coup d'œil sur les développements sociaux et technologiques des derniers siècles. Tout comme les alchimistes qui ont essayé de transformer les métaux de base en or au Moyen Âge, le fait de réunir les possibilités technologiques et les besoins réels peut créer une valeur ajoutée. L'Incubateur AdNovum a pour objectif de comprendre, modéliser et soutenir les mécanismes de l'innovation avec une seule méthode: l'alchimie de l'innovation. Il se compose des trois phases "observe", "incubate" et "convert".

Observe

incubator_observe_icon

Identifier les mécanismes de base et les appliquer à de nouveaux domaines

 

Chaque jour, nous recevons d'innombrables informations provenant d'une grande variété de sources. Nous lisons les journaux, écoutons les conversations dans le train, surfons sur le net, etc. Notre cerveau nous aide à traiter ce flot d'information pour que nous ne devenions pas fous. Il filtre ce qui n'est pas important ou ce qui est connu. Seul ce qui est important ou ne rentre pas dans notre schéma est autorisé à passer dans notre conscience. Cette séparation entre le même et le différent est la clé de l'abstraction ou de la généralisation. Il s'agit de réaliser immédiatement que l'animal que nous voyons en ce moment est un chien parce qu'il ressemble beaucoup aux autres chiens que nous connaissons. Mais, on remarque aussi que ce chien est unique, à sa façon.

 

L'innovation consiste à obtenir des idées à partir d'observations et à les transférer dans de nouveaux domaines. Pour cela, il faut comprendre le mécanisme de base d'une opération. Ce n'est qu'alors que nous pourrons en bénéficier. C'est pourquoi nous nous demandons dans chaque cas avec un sujet "Qu'est-ce qui le rend spécial?"ou "Comment se distingue-t-il de quelque chose de similaire?" C'est ainsi qu'un processus de "matching" se déroule de manière automatique. UneUne fois reconnue l'idée de base d'une solution cool, nous considérons quels besoins peuvent également être satisfaits. Le résultat est une hypothèse d'innovation.

 

Incubate

incubator_incubate_icon

Réviser l'hypothèse et acquérir des connaissances précieuses

 

Une fois qu'une idée a émergé dans la phase d'observation, nous la formulons comme une hypothèse. On peut voir si l'idée est viable d'après la réponse à cette idée. Si elle est importante, nous validons l'idée par des expérimentations. Cela prend généralement la forme d'une démonstration de faisabilité ou d'un prototype – et le plus efficacement avec un client existant ou potentiel dans le cadre d'une co-création. Nous poursuivons un objectif commun sur un pied d'égalité.

 

Différents scénarios sont possibles lors de la validation:

  • Scénario 1: L'hypothèse est confirmée. Dans ce cas, la phase d'incubation est terminée.  
  • Scénario 2: Le résultat semble prometteur, mais l'hypothèse n'a pas encore été entièrement confirmée et doit être ajustée parce que nous avons acquis de nouvelles connaissances.
  • Scénario 3: La chance a frappé. A première vue, l'expérience semble avoir échoué. Mais dès que nous comprenons exactement ce qui s'est passé, nous découvrons un résultat complètement inattendu qui a de grands avantages.
  • Scénario 4: L'hypothèse est fausse. Plus nous poursuivons une idée avec courage, plus ce cas est fréquent. Mais c'est tout aussi important. Parce que même une hypothèse non confirmée offre des renseignements précieux.

 

Convert

incubator_convert_icon

Exploiter pleinement le potentiel des idées pétillantes

 

Une fois qu'une hypothèse a été confirmée et qu'il existe des possibilités d'application concrètes, nous examinons si une offre peut être faite. Pour ce faire, nous développons une étude de cas classique qui met l'accent sur la valeur ajoutée pour l'utilisateur final. Si la valeur ajoutée et le potentiel du marché sont prouvés, nous définissons les conditions-cadres organisationnelles et financières pour une conception, une mise en œuvre et une commercialisation réussie.

 

Si la solution dispose d'un caractère de produit, si elle correspond à la stratégie et à l'offre d'AdNovum, et si elle peut être développée à temps avec nos propres ressources, nous l'intégrons. Une équipe multidisciplinaire agile composée de différentes unités d'affaires et de soutien s'occupe de la conception et du développement du produit ainsi que de la commercialisation du premier MVP.

 

Si les conditions cadres pour la mise en œuvre interne ne sont pas remplies, la solution est développée en dehors d'AdNovum, si nécessaire en collaboration avec des partenaires. Cela peut s'accompagner de la création d'une start-up séparée ou d'une entreprise commune.

 

Un développement logiciel individuel est également concevable si la solution répond aux besoins d'un client ou si le client est intéressé par le développement de la solution mais a besoin d'un partenaire technologique. Cette option correspond à notre approche classique. En collaboration avec le client, nous adaptons la solution à ses besoins, ses objectifs et son environnement. Nous élaborons ensuite une solution et un plan détaillé pour la mise en œuvre. Nous accompagnons le client dans la définition et la création des conditions-cadres organisationnelles, techniques et juridiques. Cela vaut également pour le processus de gestion du changement. Il peut toujours compter sur notre expérience, nos compétences et nos ressources en matière de logiciels et d'ingénierie de sécurité.

 

Vous avez une idée prometteuse que vous aimeriez raffiner ou développer avec nous? N'hésitez pas à nous contacter!

‹‹L'AdNovum Incubator stimule l'innovation en anticipant les tendances, en identifiant les opportunités pour l'entreprise de commercialiser les technologies émergentes et en construisant des exemples d’applications.››
Matthias Loepfe, Head of Incubator, AdNovum
‹‹AdNovum Incubator est un catalyseur d'innovation. Nous stimulons l'innovation en anticipant les tendances technologiques et en identifiant les besoins commerciaux là où les technologies émergentes peuvent aider, et en validant les cas d'utilisation au sein de notre écosystème de partenaires industriels et universitaires.››
Stéphane Mingot , Innovation Engineer, AdNovum Incubator

Matthias Loepfe Head of AdNovum Incubator

Stéphane Mingot Innovation Engineer, AdNovum Incubator